jump to navigation

Another day, despite the final countdown 2010/03/09

Posted by Sergio Montealegre in Classwork, Musings.
trackback

So what’s up as graduation nears? Not much. Gamer Gazette is going well, with a big week about to go down for us with the 2010 Game Developers Conference starting today through the rest of the week, and I couldn’t be happier working on that site. It’s the first step to what I really want to do for a living with the goal of reaching LA’s E3 conference in 2012.

Graduation is close, which is exciting, but hollow since, thanks to the lovely scheduling with a certain service, I was effectively screwed out of taking my last class, so I’ve got to come back one more semester to take a single 1-credit class. It’s really worthy of the current internet phrase, “fml.”

No sense in sitting still despite this. Beacon work’s been going fine, but now in the fun role of Biscayne Bay Copy Editor, so I’ve had the joy of refining articles and such. I’m still looking for internships, but at a really half-hearted attempt since I’m more interested with online stuff than I am of the average reporter, diligent as they are, schlepping through today’s name or event of the day in a field where job security is becoming as scarce as ice on Mount Kilimanjaro.

Maybe some readers will disagree with my somewhat jaded views on the whole subject, but this is the impression I got from all the lectures I’ve heard in my time here. This is why my colleagues and I started our own site, our own Oregon Trail, if you will. Sometimes you have to do things on your own if you want to get anywhere in life; be your own boss, essentially.

For now, my main concern is getting a foot in the door, no easy feat for someone who’s not done an internship and who’s work experience is a week-old blog and several staff positions (staff writer, photo editor, copy editor, etc) at a college paper with a few accolades. Here’s hoping an online gig comes along since now I feel that’s the place for me next, along with fostering Gamer Gazette’s growth.

“If you want something, don’t ask for it; go out and win it. Do that and you’ll succeed.”

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a comment